Precious Metals Pairs

Precious Metals Pricing

Prices for gold and silver are quoted in USD. If you are trading 1 lot of gold, one cent movement is equivalent to USD 1. Please see examples:

• Gold: Opening price is 1500.1 and the price moves up to 1500.2. The profit value is USD 10.

• Silver: Opening price is 20.70 and the price moves up to 20.71. The profit value is USD 50.

• Platinum: Opening price is 1200.1 and the price moves up to 1200.2. The profit value is USD 5.

• Palladium: Opening price is 700.1 and the price moves up to 700.2. The profit value is USD 10.

Symbol Currency Pair Trading Terminology
GLD/USD Spot Gold "Gold"
SLV/USD Spot Silver "Silver"
XPT/USD Spot Platinum "Platinum"
XPD/USD Spot Palladium "Palladium"

Trading Hours

Monday till Friday (Summer) Hong Kong Time 7:00 am (Greenwich Mean Time GMT 23:00) to Hong Kong Time 4:00 am (Greenwich Mean Time GMT 20:00)  

Monday till Friday (Winter) Hong Kong Time 8:00 am (Greenwich Mean Time GMT 00:00) to Hong Kong Time 5:00 am (Greenwich Mean Time GMT 21:00)  

Margin Requirement

Intraday margin requirement 100% margin requirement per lot.

Overnight margin requirement 50% margin requirement per lot.

Hedged margin requirement 50% margin requirement per lot (each pair of locked lots: a pair of buy and a sell order)

Settlement on Lack of Maintenance Margin

When the maintenance margin ratio is below 30%, the all open positions will be closed automatically or to hedged (locked) all of the open positions by Internet trading platform against the current market rate. SGCM does not guarantee to settle all open contracts against the current market rate in volatile market conditions which may cause a debit balance in the client‘s account; Consequently, Clients will be responsible for any resulting losses after contract settlement.

Overnight Position

1. All accounts with overnight positions. When the account balance is no longer able to cover the minimum margin requirement of 50% per lot, and the client failed to deposit a variation margin later than the time as the SGCM prescribe,(at Hong Kong Time 4:00 am (Greenwich Mean Time GMT 20:00 Summer), Hong Kong Time 5:00 am (Greenwich Mean Time GMT 21:00 Winter) market close. SGCM shall have the right to hedged (locked) automatically all of the client‘s open positions with intraday closing price to limit the client’s risk.

2. New Balance = Cash Balance + Realized Profit/Loss - Commission Floating P&L = the Profit or Loss of open positions in the account calculated by the current evaluation price of the market Equity = A/C Balance + Floating P&L

Maintenance Margin Level 

It is the customer‘s responsibility to monitor and maintain his/her margin account balances at all times. SGCM will not be responsible for any profits and loss due to price change whether during trading hours or non-trading hours. 

Change Transaction Rules

The SGCM reserves the right to add, delete or change all the transaction rules which will become effective after published on websites of the company. Clients will be informed the change of margin requirement by system information of the trading platform. When an account balance is no longer able to cover the minimum margin requirement, all open contracts will be closed automatically / hedged (locked) against the current market rate. (Any change in the trading regulations above will be posted on our website without individual notification, the clients are advised to read and look out for the notice every time when you access the website.)